Know more

29 Mar 2018


To the memory of an Angel

Dijon, Opéra

Strauss, Der Rosenkavalier - Suite op. 59 (22’)
Berg, Violin Concerto “ To the Memory of an Angel ” – David Grimal (22’)
Brahms, Symphony No.4 in E minor op. 98 (39’)

Les Dissonances
David Grimal, violon et direction artistique

This programme gives pride of place to the Germanic repertoire through the masterpieces of three composers. A feverish opening with the orchestral suite of Richard Strauss’s Rosenkavalier is followed by Alban Berg’s Violin Concerto, dedicated “To the memory of an angel”, a tearing and profoundly lyrical work. In the second half, Les Dissonances returns to Brahms and his Symphony no 4, a work of great pathos, the composer’s farewell symphony.


Brahms Symphonie 4 - Les Dissonances
Brahms Symphonie 4 - Les Dissonances